Now You Be The Judge

Drum roll please …

1st Place - Anne Garman (nurse nanna)

After much debate, the It’s Not About The Numbers judging panel has chosen a winner for its Garmin chirp giveaway – Anne Garman (nurse nanna).

Her entry vividly portrayed the competition’s theme and our blog’s name by recording the geocaching journey, rather than the destination. In this case, that journey was her second three-hour kayak trip on the backwaters of Michigan’s White River to a 5/5 cache that has been logged only 43 times since it was placed in October 2005.¬†Congratulations, Anne; your new wireless beacon is in the mail.

Runner-up Kieran Philip (phiki614) also impressed with a beautifully composed photo of Otago’s Gibbston Valley after completing the arduous 17km hike to log a cache atop this mountain range, earning himself $10 gift voucher from Geocachers NZ.

Highly commended are Gerard Hyland (GSVNoFixedAbode), for his father-daughter handiwork on a frosty Dunedin day, Jay DeBoer for a video summarising those day-to-day experiences that epitomise our hobby, and James Gray (metal-bijou) for his images of¬† “dead ends” and “making great memories”.

Did we make the right call? Now you get to play judge.
We were so impressed by the quality of our entries that we’ve decided to award another chirp beacon to the favourite submission as selected by you, our readers.
You’ve got three days to cast your vote in our blind ballot. But be warned, it’s tougher than it looks.

[nggallery id=1]

Kevin Swain (GC name: Kevs_Team)

Auckland, New Zealand

Jay DeBoer (GC name: DigitalMDX)

Washington, United States


  1. Harwell5

    Just curious who the winner was from the viewer votes.

    1. Cumbyrocks

      Sorry for the delay – the sudden arrival of my geocaching assistant #3 delayed the production of the announcement. kjwx should have it out soon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Switch to mobile version